A Luxurious Matte Lipstick – NARS Audacious Lipstick in Anita

DSC02109 copySince NARS released the Audacious Lipstick line, I’ve tried them on during every visit to Sephora. During one trip, my boyfriend, for the first time, complimented me on this lipstick! That was the first time I got a compliment from him about a lipstick I was wearing and writing this out now, it seems like a minuscule thing, but it was a pretty exciting.

Given its price tag, I tried to find a dupe, but to no avail. So during my latest trip to Sephora, I caved and bought the lipstick. He still loves it and I love it.

DSC02220DSC02221The lipstick is packaged in a square tube with a magnetized cap–fancy~! The square tube looks beautiful and you’ll feel glamorous  pulling it out of your purse–but I’d never risk it melting in the heat, so I’ll leave it at home where I can worship it.

DSC02117

Unlike the rubberized box it came in, the lipstick tube itself is made of a matte, black plastic with NARS embossed across the bottom half of the packaging. It’s prone to fingerprints, but it’s not a big deal once you hear how it wears. Once opening the tube, NARS is, again, embossed along the front side of the lipstick. Double fancy~.

DSC02230This is a creamy, opaque, matte lipstick that feels so smooth during application. It doesn’t pull, drag, or dry out the lips as matte lipsticks are notoriously known to do, but I’d continue to scrub and moisturize the lips before wearing any lipstick. It’s also scent free!

DSC02177

On my skin, Anita is a beautiful mid-tone pink. I’ve seen this color wear more like a pinkish nude on others with darker skin tones than myself. Given its opacity, you won’t need to apply a lot as well. It’s a beautiful everyday color and I love it because it’s a creamy and comfortable wearing matte lipstick. I like the occasional glossy lip, but mattes are my true love. Interestingly enough, the finish isn’t completely matte, but rather a soft, velvety, satin.

In terms of longevity, Anita lasted about 6 hours with eating and drinking (but most likely won’t live through a hamburger feast), faded gracefully, and stained my lips. Though I haven’t experimented with the bolder colors, I imagine the more neutral or wearable shades to be more forgiving in terms of fading.

DSC02209
For color comparisons: (on the left) Revlon’s Super Lustrous Lipstick in Blushing Nude, (center) NARS Audacious Lipstick in Anita, and (on the right) Revlon’s Color Burst Lip Butter in Pink Truffle.

DSC02231It’s a great matte lipstick that is pigmented, long-wearing, and comfortable to wear. I see myself wearing this everyday and the color selection is great as well. Though the price is a bit hefty, I would purchase from this line of again. 🙂

The NARS Audacious Lipstick retails for $32.00.

Let me know what matte lip products you love. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Luxurious Matte Lipstick – NARS Audacious Lipstick in Anita

Leave a Reply

