A Matte Go-To Look for Everyday

DSC02503

Lately, I’ve been loving the simplicity of matte eyeshadows. They accentuate where needed for a simple, pulled together, and natural look. This is my take for a damn-I-woke-up-late-but-I-still-have-to-look-presentable eye look. It also works for days when you just want fuss-free eye makeup. 🙂

DSC02534

DSC02547

Today’s palette of choice–The Lorac Pro Palette. I’ve used four brushes, but you could definitely get away with just two–a flat shader brush, like the white Sonia Kashuk brush (second from the right) and a small blending brush, like the MAC 217 (third from the right).

DSC02558

After putting on an eyeshadow base, one that’s translucent or similar to one’s skin tone, I apply the color Cream all over the lid and blend the edges out with a fluffy brush. This color functions to brighten the eye and provide a neutral base for the matte browns that will accentuate the it.

DSC02559

Mauve is a light brown with pinkish undertones similar to that of Limit in the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette. Using the MAC 217 brush, I place and blend this color in the outer thirds of my eye to add depth and create the illusion of a crease. The depth draws attention to the eyes and also makes them look bigger.

DSC02563

With the color Sable, which is a deep brown with red undertones, and a small crease brush, I place this color on the outer thirds of my lids in a sideways “V” to create shape and accentuate the edges of my eyes even further. This color adds warmth to the eyes as well.

DSC02571Wings! They create a statement in a subtle way. I really like Physician’s Formula Eye Booster 2-in-1 Lash Boosting Eyeliner + Serum. Does it boost the length of my eyelashes? *sigh* No. Does it make an awesome eyeliner? Ohh yeaah. Love the brush tip. Maybe a drugstore rival to the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner? Hmmm.

DSC02573Lastly for the eyes, I apply two coats of the Maybelline The Falsies Mascara, which I also really like. They transfer under the eyes a bit, so the search for the holy mascara continues.

And this is how I’ve been wearing matte eyeshadows when going for an everyday, simple eye look. 🙂

DSC02667
The next day, I pair the same eye look with a bold lip.

When I’m feeling a little more adventurous or want a little pizazz, I’ll wear a bold lip. Inspired by Spring, I wore NYX’s Soft Matte Lip Cream in Prague. Today, it lived through Korean food and coffee. I applied it around 12pm in the afternoon and took these photos around 5:30pm in the evening without retouching in-between. DSC02672

DSC02676
Love this deep berry color. It’s also matte!

DSC02677

Sweet, I hope everyone has had an awesome day and let me know what are your makeup essentials for days when you’re in a rush? 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Matte Go-To Look for Everyday

Leave a Reply

