A Wearable Red – NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in “Cruella”

DSC02798
Cruella applied around 10 am.

Last December, I was ecstatic to receive the beauty insider gift Sephora was offering at the time (still offering actually!). It comprised of two lip pencils from Nars which included their Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien and the Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella. Cruella, in particular, has become a new favorite of mine. 🙂 DSC02815

DSC02819It’s a lip pencil that requires one of those larger sized sharpeners. While it’s not an inconvenience for me, I can see others seeking a pencil that comes with its own sharpener or better yet, one that is made with a twist-up feature (like those from Tarte or Revlon). DSC02820A little tip or observation that I’ve made: I’ve found that it helps to shimmy the cap as you’re closing the product to push out the air that would’ve been trapped inside. Though it’s not a huge cause for concern, it might help prevent the lip pencil from marking everything you hold dear in your purse/makeup bag. DSC02779Cruella is a beautiful, not-totally-in-your-face red that applies smoothly and opaquely across the lips without being dry or overly creamy. I also love that it feels comfortable and lightweight on the lips. Unlike its satin counterpart, the matte lip pencil contains a light fruity scent, similar to that of the Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipsticks, but doesn’t linger after application.

DSC02880
Here’s Cruella again after 5 hours, two cups of coffee, and sushi. There’s some fading along the inner part of the lips.

In terms of longevity, the color stays opaque on the lips with minimal fading. It can transfer, but stays put when not bothered. After having coffee and especially after lunch, the color began to fade on the inner part of my lips. I reapplied the color and it went on smoothly without dragging. I wouldn’t say it’s moisturizing, but it does wear comfortably on the lips.

Overall it’s a wonderful lip product and despite the fading on the inner part of the lips, which I expect from most lip products during meals anyway, the opacity of Cruella is solid, the wear is comfortable, its matte, the color is beautiful, and I was even complimented on the color that day (extra points for eliciting compliments whoo!). Cruella is a wearable red that I think is especially great for day time wear and is something I look forward to wearing throughout the week.

If you want to avoid the precision of using a lip cream/stain or the combination of red lipstick and liner, I’d say go for the Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella because it’s one of the easiest reds to apply.

The full size retails for: $26.00

Do you have go-to red product? 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Wearable Red – NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in “Cruella”

  1. Mine has been sitting on my desk untouched for the last month! you’ve motivated me to try it on again. Have you tried sharpening it yet? How hard/easy is it?

    1. Thanks Viv! ❤ I just used the lip pencil actually! It's easy to apply because the pencil is smooth and has a pointed tip. I'm sure sharpening it will make application easier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

