A Shimmering Match Made in Heaven – Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Champagne Pop Review

Highlighting is used to illuminate and bring out specific features of the face. Because of my acne scars, I’ve been hesistant to use a shimmering highlight thinking it would bring forward my not-so-loved features. Then, I had dinner with a girlfriend of mine and her skin looked so luminous and beautiful, the idea of highlighting intrigued me once again. She mentioned the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfectors, which I’ve read were the crowning shimmering highlighters of late. So I ventured to my local Sephora where I found this beaut.

DSC05599

DSC05604There had been so much love shown for Becca’s Limited Edition Shimmering Skin Perfector in Champagne Pop which was created in collaboration with fellow YouTuber and professional makeup artist Jaclyn Hill (who’s talented, over-the-top, and oh so hilarious <3). I was browsing over Becca’s various offerings when one of the girls working at Sephora suggested the warm peachy highlight because it would be a nice match for my warm skin tone.

DSC05606The packaging for the luminizing pressed powder is…awesome! It’s sturdy and feels substantial in the hand. It’s made of a rubberized material and the top metal portion is engraved with “Becca”.  Every time I’ve seen it in a YouTube video, I think it resembles a round shield for a tiny medieval soldier heh heh. I’m not crazy, I promise…SHIELDS!DSC05607Champagne Pop is a beautiful warm pinky-peach toned highlighter, that’s smooth, highly pigmented, and is a dream to blend. It can be worn with great intensity for that beaming strobe-like effect that’s currently all the rage or blended out for a more subtle glow. I also love that given how pigmented it is, the product doesn’t kick up from the pan.

The product leaves a really beautiful luminous sheen that’s neither glittery nor sparkly. Champagne pop illuminates the areas around my eyes and cheeks well and reflects beautifully in the light. Additionally, given its warm pinky-peach undertones, I think the color suits my skin tone well. DSC05644I used a fluffy eyeshadow brush similar to that of MAC’s 224 to pick up and apply the product around my eyes in a C-shape. The C-shape begins under the arch of my eyebrows and ends on the highest part of my cheekbones where my skin is the smoothest and where there are fewer acne scars–thanks for the tip Jennifer at MAC on Fillmore! ❤

This product is pricey at $38.00, but I can also see how amazing the quality of this highlighter is and I’ve been using it everyday for that extra something special. It’s a splurge product and it’s an amazing product.

Champagne Pop is a beautiful luminizing pressed powder that’s amazing to work with and the Becca x Jaclyn Hill collaboration is like a match made in heaven. They also just announced on instagram, a new limited edition Champagne Glow Palette that will include three of their exclusive Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed shades including Champagne Pop, Blushed Copper, and a new shade called Pearl! Champagne Pop lives on for the holiday season and is set to release exclusively at Sephora on October 27. 🙂

Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Champagne Pop retails for $38.00.

It’s a “treat yo self” kind of product. Pawnee for life.

One thought on “A Shimmering Match Made in Heaven – Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Champagne Pop Review

Leave a Reply

